My ps vr experience

Discussion in 'Gaming Discussions' started by iwannadie, Oct 13, 2016.

1. iwannadie

iwannadie Active Member

I have been hyped for VR since I was a kid and knew what it was like most everyone else. Today that day arrived. Prior to this I have had zero VR experience.

I opened the box and boy there's alot going on in there. Even one random box containing a lone hmdi cable, why it needed its own box is beyond me. Over all the package is nice and sorta has an "event" feel to it setting the mood.

Setup is easy plug things in and thats it. Lots of added cables though and not really an issue in the already rats nets of cables behind my tv. My cable managment had always been outta sight outta mind so no impact there. My setup at the moment is crapppy and the camera is about 3' away less than ideal I am sure.

Plugged in the headset went in and I was in a reality virtual to our own.

First the screen quality seems good, slight screen door effect I've herd it described as. Tracking seems fine no big issues. Hold the controller up and it has a slight jitter but nothing I can notice without looking for it. The cinemode or whatever is really cool seeing the dashboard on a giant 100' screen. I kinda wish the headteacking was off and just had the full screen view fixed, not sure why thats not an option?

Drive club has been a big hopeful and I wanted to try the demo before opening my copy so I hit that first. Initial i pression is "wow" standing outside looking around the car is cool. My first instinct is to move and walk around and you can't. Get in the car and things start to loom a little cheesy. It is then I decide and accept, I am inside a ps3 game.

Being inside a ps3 game graphic wise to me isn't so bad but everyone will need to make their own choice on that. After accepting ok this is a ps3 gsme but I am "inside" it! I move forward.